Guy's Cliffe Mill

A mill was recorded on this site in the Doomsday Book, and records also show that a corn mill (Gibbeclive Mill) was built in the 1200s which belonged to St. Mary's Abbey in Kenilworth until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1539.

Guy's Cliffe Mill was also built on the River Avon and was powered by large waterwheels, one of which can still be seen today.

The Mill had been given a 500 year lease by Sir Henry Beufoy in 1675, but by 1701 the Guy's Cliffe estate including Guy's Mill was sold to a Kenilworth surgeon, Thomas Edwards and eventually purchased from his son William by Sir Bertie Greatheed in 1750 under two deeds of purchase which included '2 watermills under one roof and one Oil Mill with mill house, stables and land'.

Remodelled by Bertie Greatheed in 1813 in a 'Swiss' style it was mainly designed to be central to an eye-catching view from Guy's Cliffe House.

As Steward to the Greatheed family, Samuel Squires managed its operation until it was sold by the family in the 1850s.

It continued to be a working mill right up until 1938 when it closed down. The mill and granary were converted in 1952 to a riverside pub and restaurant, known as The Saxon Mill, and in 1967 it became a Grade II listed building.

Today visitors can sit outside and have a great view across the river to Guy's Cliffe House.